This 120 credit qualification in Information Security and Assurance has been developed in collaboration with the Association of Information Security Auditors and Business Executives (AISABE). To view the qualification on Ofqual register please click here.

This qualification has been designed for learners currently employed in auditing who are looking  to advance their careers, and individuals seeking specialist knowledge in areas of computing auditing and systems accounting.

This qualification has been designed to meet the needs of learners who wish to progress onto a Master’s degree programme related to Information Systems Auditing and Control, or those currently working in auditing who are seeking specialist knowledge to advance their careers. 

Units within the Qualification

  1. Information Systems Audit Process
  2. Information Systems Management
  3. Infrastructure and Operations of Information Systems
  4. Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery
  5. Software Engineering and Security Architecture
  6. Scientific Writing & Research Methodology

Entry Requirements

Learner must fulfil at least one of the following criteria to be allowed entry to the qualification:

  • Possession of an honours degree in related subject or UK level 6 diploma or an equivalent overseas qualification
  • Mature learners (over 21) with relevant work experience
  • If you are not from the United Kingdom or a majority English-speaking country, you must provide evidence that you are competent in English language at a minimum of CEFR (the Common European Framework) level B2 from a recognised English test provider or IELTS level 5.5 in each component.


ATHE and AISABE’s existing and potentially new centres can now teach Ofqual recognised qualification, which has progression to Anglia Ruskin University for MSc Cyber Security (Top Up) at Dissertation stage. For more information about University progression please click here.

Duration and Delivery

The qualification is designed to be delivered over one academic year for full-time study but it is also flexible in its delivery in order to accommodate part-time and distance learning.

The qualification is delivered face-to-face, through lectures, tutorials, seminars, distance, online by approved centres only.

Assessment and Verification

All units within this qualification are internally assessed by the centre and verified by ATHE. The qualifications are criterion referenced, based on the achievement of all the specified learning outcomes.

To achieve a ‘pass’ for a unit, a learner must have successfully passed all learning outcomes for that unit.

Fees – £2,000

* The fees is per academic year and includes awarding organisation registration and assessment.

Key Facts

Awarding Body : Awards for Training and Higher Education (ATHE)
Course Duration : 6-12 months
Method of study : Full Time
Qualification Level :  7

We do everything we can to ensure that information on our website is correct, however details may change and we cannot accept responsibility for errors or omissions. For more detailed information about the course visit ATHE official website on https://athe.co.uk/athe-level-7-diploma-in-information-security-and-assurance/